NATIONAL GAILERY OF ART N

NEWS RELEASE

SIXTH STREET AT CONSTITUTION AVENUE NW WASHINGTON DC 20565 • 737-4215 extension 224

FOR RELEASE: SATURDAY A.M. November 20, 1976

GIFT OF MAJOR CONTEMPORARY AMERICAN GRAPHICS

COLLECTION TO NATIONAL GALLERY OF ART ANNOUNCED

WASHINGTON, D. C. A major collection of contemporary American graphics, including 160 prints, 30 drawings, and two illustrated books, has been given to the National Gallery of Art by the Woodward Foundation, Gallery Director J. Carter Brown announced last night at a dinner given by Mr. and Mrs. Paul Mellon for members of the Gallery's Collectors Committee. A selection of works from the collection will go on view in the Gallery's Concourse today.

The gift represents many of the best American graphics of the 1960s and 1970s. It brings the Gallery's graphics collections up to 1975 and provides a strong nucleus for the Gallery's holdings in twentieth-century art, which will be a feature of the East Building scheduled to open in 1978.

The collection includes 47 prints by Jasper Johns and 31 prints by Robert Rauschenberg, as well as works by Josef

Albers, Joseph Cornell, Jim Dine, Sam Francis, Helen Frankenthaler, Adolph Gottlieb, Red Grooms, David Hockney, Agnes Martin, Claes Oldenburg, Larry Rivers, Frank Stella, and Mark Tobey. Curator of twentieth-century art E. A. Carmean, Jr., singled out as especially important Robert Motherwell's A La Pintura, an untitled drawing by William deKooning, a Jim Dine watercolor study, Barnett Newman's 1949 drawing The Name, and a suite of drawings on the Dante theme by Robert Rauschenberg.

Founded by Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Woodward, both of whom are members of the National Gallery's Collectors Committee, the Woodward Foundation has been lending many of these prints and drawings to U.S. embassies throughout the world since 1959 as part of its Art in Embassies program. The works were chosen for the Foundation by Mrs. Woodward, with the assistance of Henry Geldzahler, often directly from the artists' studios.

The Collectors Committee, chaired by Mrs. J. Lee Johnson III of Fort Worth, Texas, was formed in 1975 to carry out a three-year program of large-scale commissions of works of art for the East Building. The Committee is having its second annual meeting in Washington this week.

END

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION or photographs contact Katherine Warwick, Assistant to the Director, or Mary Dyer, Information Office, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. 20565, area code 202, 737-4215, ext. 224.